Family transmission

These last few months, I’ve been thinking about talents and knowledges in families. I realized that I’ve never asked my grand-mother about her knitting skills, my father about his gardening, never really talked with my sisters about knitting and sewing, etc…Every family is a treasure of skills and knowledges. Not only about sewing, knitting, gardening, a family heritage can be about cooking recipes, writing skills, music, photography…

Everyone owns some special skill and this is precious. So it got me thinking about transmission of knowledge in a family, and more precisely in mine.

I spent last weekend with my mother, chatting, walking, sewing and knitting and drinking tea and coffee. We had a chat about transmission of knowledge in a family. We are a creative family, and my mother is a great sewer and knitter. So she taught me and my sisters lots of creative things. And our father is just like Mc Giver, so he can do almost anything to repare stuff ;) We grew up with a great creative background.

When I arrived at my mother’s house on friday, I asked her if she could teach me some stuff. So she taught me embroidery stitches and ” jour échelle” (can’t find the translation in english). It’s an amazing technique.

Here is a picture

P1010600

We talked about transmission of knowledge, about family heritage. And she told me I could really make something from that. I’ve been thinking about it for months, and she made me realize it was possible.

I don’t know when I’ll get time to do this project, but you’ll read about it on this blog :)

Here are some more pictures of the embroidery lesson she gave me

P1010595

P1010570

On the livingroom table : embroidery and knitting stuff.

P1010577

4 thoughts on “Family transmission

  1. hehe ! merci Alicette, désolée pour l’émotion. Moi ça me fait tout bizarre de voir les mains de maman en photo, et sur internet :) en tout cas je cogite vraiment depuis un moment sur tous ces trucs qu’on a dans la famille et qu’on ne partage pas forcément, ou qui nous paraissent évidents. (papa va m’apprendre des trucs de jardinage cet été)

    Like

  2. Je ne peux que te complimenter sur tes photos (car trop nulle en anglais) tu as vraiment un œil de photographe. Je sais je me répète mais tu as ce qu’il faut entre le tricot, la photo pour faire un truc super…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Merci Josiane ! :) ça me fait plaisir ça. Et je n’ai pas trouvé de moyen de mettre mon blog en deux langues (si je traduis chaque paragraphe les uns sous les autres ça fera bien trop long avec la présentation du blog). Je continue l’enquête. Merci pour tes encouragements en tout cas

      Like

Leave a comment