Organic yarn investigation

For months, I’ve been looking for french organic wool. So I searched on the internet, and found some breeders.

First, I looked for local breeders. I got to try one yarn from Les toisons Bretonnes, located in Brittany. I am still knitting their wool .

About the price of this wool : I paid 7€ for a ball of 200g.

sans titre - 15022014-_IGP4336

undyed organic wool

P1000053

finishing mittens :)

Then, this weekend during a show  (“Respirez la vie”, a show about natural living, healthy way of life, organic products etc),  I got to meet amazing passionate goat breeders. They are part of a french cooperative of a hundred breeders : “Le mohair des fermes de France”. Some of these breeders produce organic mohair. I never tried mohair, but I will someday. What I was looking for was sheep wool, and they also had a bit of wool from Massif Central sheep. And I must say, these sheep must be so soft and fluffy ! I bought two skeins of brown/beige wool, and another skein of bigger raw yarn. I can’t wait to try them.

About the price of this wool : I paid 6€ for a skein of 200g.

(if you want some of their sheep yarn, shoot me an e-mail, they don’t have a website for this yarn, but I have their contact if you want).

P1000155_edited

undyed wool from the Massif Central, France

P1000152_edited

Stay tuned for some new informations from my investigations on organic wool ;) Have a great week ! And don’t hesitate to comment or share your knitting blogs.

Leave a comment