Needlecraft show

Last sunday, I spent the day at the show “L’aiguille en fête” in Paris. How amazing ! From funny contests, to great artists, wool sellers, fabric, books, beer, food … Paradise !

sans titre - 14022014-_IGP4321

“Un peu d’air” par Laurence Aguerre

sans titre - 14022014-_IGP4324

Découpages magnifiques par Béatrice Coron

Usually, I don’t like being in the crowd, and spend hours in a noisy place. But last sunday, I just enjoyed and had fun. With my boydfriend, my aunt and a friend of hers, we explored, talked to artists, sellers, creators, and took pictures.

And with the girls, I got to participate to a speedknitting contest, just for fun. And we had a good laugh. During these contests (I learnt there is such a thing as International Speedknitting contest), you have to knit as fast as you can for 3 minutes, with straight needles, 60 stitches a row. It’s hard, and stressful. But such a strange funny thing to do.

This same day, I had the chance to touch wools I usually  see on the internet. And it makes a big difference. I talk on another post about “Toisons Bretonnes” wools. This wool is ecological. For weeks I’ve been wondering about the quality of that wool. So I bought two balls to try and knit it. It is a bit rough, but I know it will get softer after being washed, and after being worn a few times.

After knitting a few rows, I got used to it. I love the contact of this wool, and most of all the smell. It smells so good. I know what a sheep can smell like, but this wool doesn’t smell like this. I’d love to meet the sheeps that grow this fleece. :)

sans titre - 15022014-_IGP4337

This event was an occasion to inform people about breast cancer. There was an area dedicated to breast cancer awareness. And people could come and customize bras, or create some. So I decided to knit one. You wonder why? Why knit a bra? (I thought the same while knitting it). But this was for a good cause.

InstagramCapture_be3fe982-400c-4195-8230-77dbaabbda7a

WHAT I WILL REMEMBER FROM THIS DAY

* Speedknitting contest is an evil invention, but great fun !

* Having a professional future in needlecraft is possible

* People are creative, they have big dreams, they are so interesting! I even got to buy beer from a needlecraft book seller. (Great beer by the way ! “La Gaëlle, bière blonde”, made in Brocéliande in Brittany)

sans-titre-15022014-_igp4333.jpg

 

 

Leave a comment