About wool choices

When I learnt how to knit, I was a kid, and I learnt on acrylic yarn, like most of you I think. And I didn’t care, I was just focused on the knitting process, the making, the stitches. Growing older, I tried to buy yarn that has a bit of wool in the composition, conscious that it would last longer, but I was also conscious that I didn’t have the money to buy the best wool.

And recently, I read about natural dyeing, hand weaving, and fiber consciousness. I did not think about that before (and I feel a bit ashamed about it, knowing that I try to eat organic, consume in a responsible way. But I did not rethink my knitting practice).

When I was a kid,  Bergère de France, a famous brand in France, was the number one shop for me, the one everyone in my family would order from. So, for years, I kept ordering wool from their website.

But when I recently discovered the amazing instagramers I talk about in the page ‘Inspirations’, I realized I’ve always been knitting with wool that was ‘kind of natural’ without being really concerned about all that.

But from now, I will try to consume in a more responsible way, and use products made with great care, and real wool, that did not go through chemical treatments.

So I searched for local sellers. And I discovered Les moutons de Bretagne, a farm located in Brittany. They sell their yarn online, or in a few shops. HERE is their website. It is all in french, so if you need help, let me know, and I’ll translate stuff you’d love to read.

bandeau03-resized

From now on, I will think more before buying yarn, think about the quality, but also the quantity when it comes to knitting for myself (do I need a new sweater? new socks? etc.).

One thought on “About wool choices

  1. Pingback: L’Aiguille en fête – Paris. Needlecraft show | la cabane à tricot

Leave a comment